top of page

Feel the Fear and do it anyway


Late June of 2017, my 7 year old Morgan gelding Red and I attended a Parelli clinic with clinician Don Halladay http://www.donhalladay.com/ in Dryden ON hosted by Kevin and Susan. I met great people, every moment was a gift and my riding confidence moved to a whole new level.

I wondered at first if I should even enrol in this clinic. To travel with my horse for 6 hours one way was huge. Also one of the criteria was that you must be able to lope on your horse. Certainly I have loped but in short spirts on a dirt trail where I felt a bit more in control than in an area with other horses. I have to say Red is a bit clumsy, so one of my reluctance to lope is my fear he and I fill fall. Believe me it has happened. Anyway later in the day of the first day Don says “who is going to lope”? I felt the fear and did it anyway in front of 2 clinicians, 13 other riders and spectators. It wasn’t so bad, in fact I would say it felt liberating to not let fear get in the way and just DO IT! Not only did I lope every day. You can see from the picture I loped around the area with the Canadian flag unfurling behind us singing "Oh Canada". Red was in no way bothered by this. Better yet there was not tumbling in the sand by either one of us. Feel the fear and do it anyway can help you move to the next level of confidence with both you and your horse. Remember 80% of what you fear never occurs. Go for it!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page